Team India’s next opponents are the West Indies. The Caribbean side are scheduled to tour India for 2 Tests, 5 ODIs and 3 T20Is in October and November. After skipping the Asia Cup Indian skipper Virat Kohli is back to led his side again.

India will be looking to get back to winning ways after the recent 4-1 series loss to England.

What can we expect from the upcoming Test matches? How strong is our line up against the West Indies team? Who is in and who is dropped?

Here’s a preview of what to expect in the Test Series against West Indies starting from the 4th of October 2018.


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced Indian squad on Saturday, 29th October for the 2 Test matches. Captain Kohli is back after taking rest and missing out on Asia Cup. India will be playing their first Test match on 4th October at Rajkot and second Test on 16th October at Hyderabad.



The last time West Indies toured India was in 2013 and this was the same series which was a farewell series for the legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar. Windies lost the 2 Test match series 2-0. Kieran Powell, Jason Holder, Kemar Roach and Shannon Gabriel are among the current Windies Test squad who played against India in 2013.

It’s the No.1 ranked Test team in the world facing off against the No. 8 ranked West Indies – on paper and in home conditions this should be an easy series win!


Analysing India Squad

Team India gave a few injuries to key players such as Hardik Pandya and Ishant Sharma where openers Shikhar Dhawan and Murali Vijay have been dropped due to poor performances during the England Test series.

This has created an opportunity for youngsters like Prithvi Shaw. Shaw is one of the rising stars who lead led the Under 19 India Team to Cricket World Cup glory earlier this year.



Prithvi has a remarkable first-class batting record, in just 14 first-class matches he has hit 7 centuries at an average of 56.72. His style of playing often reminds that of the cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar. With Dhawan and Vijay rested, it would be KL Rahul and Shaw opening the innings for India.

Another addition in the batting department is Mayank Agarwal who has played 43 first-class matches. His India A preference against South Africa A where he hit double ton would have gone a long way to securing a place in the squad.



As for the bowling department, R Ashwin who was doubtful due to an injury has cleared a fitness test and is all set to lead the spin attack with Kuldeep.

India’s main pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested so Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav will lead the pace attack with the other bowling options coming from the debutants Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur.

India should stick to a winning home formula of 2 seamers and three spinners.


India squad: Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur.

WI squad: Jason Holder (captain), Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton, Shimon Hitmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach and Jomel Warrican.

Leave a Reply